Car Dealer Reviews
Loading
Sponsored Links

Rose City Motors

47 comments


Rose City Motors Address
Rose City Motors
3450 Ann Arbor Rd
Jackson, MI 49202 - 2702
Rose City Motors Website - Phone - Fax
Phone: 5177640930
Fax: 5177645596
Website: Yes

Rose City Motors Information
Dealer: Used Car Dealers
Contact: Dan Kidder - Finance Exec
Employees: 32
Yearly Sales Estimate: 20704000

Rose City Motors, 2.3 out of 5 based on 8 ratings

{ 47 comments… read them below or add one }

jfcl June 3, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Worst car dealership I have ever been to.Bought a car in January,when we called to ask the price the 1st person we talked to quoted us $3500.00 more than the 2nd salesperson.The car had some cosmetic issues & we were told these cars are brought back to 100% before we would pick it up.Stains on the seats,speakers did not work,emblem smashed in on the steering wheel,scratches on the paint job that looked like a 2 year old tried to cover.Took the car back to get these thing’s fixed,nothing was taken care of and they actually took a can of spray paint to the inside and sprayed the stains on the seats,did not cover any of the inside,there was over spray all over the car,the plastic they put on the floor was stuck to the rug from all the paint they used.We have put over $500.00 into this car in the 4 months we have had it.New front brakes,new back brakes and a very expensive front wheel bearing,These guys were as nice as can be when the deal was being made,the minute we called because of issues they wouldn’t hardly give us the time of day.You can get financed just about anywhere now,don’t give these guys a second thought.You will not get a car that does not have issues.Google them before you even think about going there.

Reply

John Doe October 9, 2014 at 6:12 pm

bbb.com refund

Reply

Teresa Smith August 6, 2010 at 11:23 am

We bought a vehicle from the Kalamazoo office. We were told that we were all set to purchase our vehicle we just needed to come and sign for it and we could take it home. We drove three hours and we got there and they didn’t even have an approval yet. So they let us “borrow” the vehicle. They finally figured out an approval but of course we had to shell out more money plus the vehicle price magically went up by nearly $600.00. So we get the vehicle home and three service engine lights went on before we even made it home. We had it checked out by a mechanic which we had to pay for.So that was a few months ago and here we are with no air conditioning in an $18,000.00 vehicle in the middle of August.I took it to a mechanic and it needs $720.00 worth of work to fix a hole in the condenser that has been there for a long time come to find out. So I called Rose City Motors and talked to the manager. He was very short with me and had me call the service dept. They were very friendly but the service dept did not have the authority to work with me. So needless to say this vehicle has been nothing but a huge expensive headache. I want to give it back so bad. I look and this car everyday and think about what a huge mistake I made. This is a warning to all of those out there not to ever ever ever go here. They are scammers that are only looking to sell junker cars for ridiculous amounts.

Reply

John Doe October 9, 2014 at 6:13 pm

bbb.com refund

Reply

Angry Customer September 16, 2011 at 11:50 pm

The staff at Rose City loses paperwork, lies to you, and never follows through with what they say they’ll do. They cause nothing but stress and buying a car from them was a HUGE mistake. Greg Cook from the Jackson dept is extremely rude and is one of the major reasons why I would never recommend Rose City.

Reply

John Doe October 9, 2014 at 6:14 pm

bbb.com refund

Reply

Never Again! September 16, 2011 at 11:52 pm

These crooks will lie and tell you whatever it takes to sell you a car. Very, very dishonest!

Reply

John Doe October 9, 2014 at 6:14 pm

bbb.com refund

Reply

mark clarke February 1, 2012 at 5:43 pm

THANK YOU…saw a car on their lot and was going to inquire UNTIL….I saw BAD BAD reviews! They sound very CROOKED…….NO THANKS ROSE CITY MOTORS…..YOU CANT SCREW ME……

Reply

ConsumersFirst May 24, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Stay Away. It’s the best advice anyone can give.

Reply

John Doe October 9, 2014 at 6:15 pm

bbb.com refund :)

Reply

John Doe October 9, 2014 at 6:16 pm

bbb,com refund

Reply

Anonymous February 25, 2012 at 12:04 pm

never by from rose city rippoff they lie right to yiour face worst experence i ever had i ride around jackson with big sign on my car rosecity rippoffs make sure u tell every body about the liers never by from them watch out for lier dave simmons

Reply

randy February 25, 2012 at 12:16 pm

got ripped off big time by salesmanager dave simmons never trust anybody their .they will scam u and lie right to your face dont even pull in parking lot my attorney leave car in parking lot and go to court ther bigeat rip of dealershe seen injackson

Reply

Anonymous February 25, 2012 at 12:25 pm

dave simmons tol me not to by on monroe st cars are junk i thought getting 2007 for 9thousand with my own finacing next thing i new he financed at 9.8 enterested bank would finance me at 4.5 car whent from 9thousand to 13thouand put thouysand thougt owed 8thousand dave simmons lied to meii

Reply

Anonymous February 27, 2012 at 9:49 pm

ever budy that been rip off from rosecity motors put sign on car rosecityripoffs alot of attorneysin jackson no thier liers and rip offs i was told by dave simmonsall those cars on monroe st arejunk

Reply

Anonymous February 28, 2012 at 8:34 am

tell all your friends and people about rosecity ripoffs do nottrust nobody in there there cars are junk they lie i was also told cars on monroe st are junk ask dave simmons he a lier

Reply

We Dont Count AS People March 14, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Been trying for over a week now to get North
clark at Rose City Motors to work with me on a vehicle.
His Staff Sherrie Sabin wont let you talk to him and gets real boligerent when you
try to explain your situation….She quote sayes “She Dont Care”. His advertising is false, he claims in one commercial that all you have to do is prove your income and he will set you up in a vehicle. Bullshit !! I have allready done all this and he just turns his head. Now for the good part, if you are disabled in any kind of way this makes your money no good to him because he thinks and states you arent making a commitment. So to all the low income and disabled folks out there dont ask this IDOT for any assistance…..you wont get it.

REMEMBER OUR MONEY IS NO GOOD BECAUSE WE ARE LOW INCOME OR DISABLED !!

Reply

Megan Forrester March 23, 2012 at 1:31 pm

I got roped into Rose City Motors online scam. They sold me a car that they said was in good condition, then delivered it at 9PM, no Buyer’s guide in the window, promised a warranty, but told me they don’t honor anything the salesman says. The car had had MAJOR engine work, and now the cam shaft bearing failed. I maintained the car according to the manufacturer’s directions. The dealer says they won’t do anything for me. I am a single mother, and now I owe $9,000 on a car that needs at least $3,000 in repairs. The car fax shows this car has had 6 owners! I am going to do everything I can to see these crooks pay for this scam

Reply

an idea April 8, 2012 at 11:41 pm

why not investigate the law……..Michigans lemon law….. all these reviews would fall under the laws jurisdiction if it happened as you stated

Reply

an idea April 8, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Lemon Law for Used Cars in Michigan

Michigan’s Lemon Law does not cover used vehicles. However, there are several other types of laws that can be used to help you in the event you discover that you’ve bought a used car lemon. First, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has what’s called the Used Car Rule that requires dealers to provide consumers with a Buyer’s Guide with warranty and other types of information. If the dealer has in any way failed to abide by the FTC Used Car Rule, you may have the basis for a legal claim.

Second, each state has what are called Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices (UDAP) laws. If the dealer has, for example, made verbal promises or didn’t tell you about issues relating to your used car, you may have a cause of action. Third, Michigan’s version of the Uniform Commercial Code may provide you with relief. Finally, the Truth in Lending Act and the Federal Odometer Act might also be valuable in obtaining lemon justice.

Reply

unhappy May 3, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Rose City Motors is a used car dealership. Like every other used car dealership, they want to sell cars and make money. If you can’t get a 100 percent warrenty for atleast 3 months when buying a car, don’t buy a car. Keep in mind used cars are in used car lots because the original owers just don’t want them anymore. You buy it and you get all the problems. Even if you take it and get it inspected most of the parts on the car can’t be looked at and will fail in the future. Cost of fixing cars can be thousands of dollars. All I can say is, if you can’t afford to fix a car after you buy it, then get a ride with friends or take the bus. Used cars are used and can break any time costing you big money.

Reply

ConsumersFirst May 24, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Unhappy ~ it’s not all about the junk cars. We all know they are used, that’s why we tried them in the first place. It is about unprofessionalism, misleading consumer paperwork and lies. It is a dirt bag organization and it is important that others realize it. We had a report of a vehicle being signed off on and then revoked after the vehicle that was traded in was sold at auction.

Reply

unhappy costomer August 2, 2012 at 9:36 am

tell everbody about rose city ripoffs wtchout for lier dave simmons he lied to me pulled bate answitch on me . i hope they get raded for their lies.car was a piece of shit. left in menards parking lot it was junk thans to rosecity my crdit bad .liers thiefs and cheats.

Reply

bree August 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

just bought truck from rose city they advertised that it had a/c and 4 wheel drive neither of which worked, had rear main seal leak, and just blew transmission. this is all after they stated great vehicle no issues passed inspection. these people do anything to get the lemons off the lot.

Reply

yooper pam May 2, 2013 at 9:13 am

was thinking about calling rose city about a car. But thank you to all that have warned me!!! Rose city wont get this girl.

Reply

Anonymous May 23, 2013 at 10:49 am

mamaj—-Yep. in need of a car. On disability. After reading the previous reviews, won’t go there!

Reply

Harry Schoonhoven May 16, 2013 at 8:31 am

Rose City Motors is a rip off. Got a car there about a month ago, the air does not work and the passenger side mirror was broke, also the check engine light can on after a week. They said they in writing they would fix the problems. They said they recharged the air, still does not work. They pasted some kind off mirror over the old one, and the check engine light still comes on after three trips too the dealer to get it fixed. Guess I will have to get these things fixed and take them to small claims court. They have probably been there before. My advice don’t buy a car there.

Reply

BethAnn Dennison June 3, 2013 at 11:49 am

The salesman Chad Sawyer Was very knowageable and he helped us so very much I would tell anyone to come here. I could not have asked for a nicer person Chad Sawyer is great at what he does.

Reply

Elizabeth June 7, 2013 at 10:24 am

I did not read the reviews before I went to Rose City and I hope that wasn’t a mistake!! With all the negative reviews, hopefully they are trying to do a better job with customer service and satisfaction. Nontheless, I just purchased a car from the Kazoo dealership. My experience was very good and Sherrie was very professional in walking me through and explaining the process to me. There are a couple of issues with the car, but the staff have been working dilengently to get them resolved. I trust they will keep their promises. Only time will tell if I made the right decision, but as of now i am very satisfied with my car and have already referred a friend.

Reply

LISA SHEPHERD June 10, 2013 at 6:50 pm

WE RECENTLY PURCHASED A VEHICLE FROM ROSE CITY MOTORS. WE ARE EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH THE VEHICLE. WE WERE ALSO IMPRESSED WITH CHAD SAWYER, WHO WAS OUR SALES REP. HE HELPED US EVERY STEP OF THE WAY. WE EXPERIENCED A FEW BUMPS WITH CERTAIN BANKS AND VEHICLES, BUT CHAD HELPED US THROUGH ALL OF IT. HE WAS VERY COURTEOUS AND PATIENT THROUGH IT ALL. WE APPRECIATED EVERYTHING THAT HE HAS DONE. SINCERELY, THE SHEPHERD’S

Reply

gregory moening June 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

i injoyed the exsperienes here at rosecity with there servise.And there hard work that they our will to work with me and my wife.I ever one sould come here.

Reply

Chantel Brown June 14, 2013 at 4:01 pm

My experience with Chad Sawyer at Fort Wayne was great he worked with my income and made sure he put me a car that is really nice and affordable over all my experience was great.

Reply

eric schwartz June 14, 2013 at 6:47 pm

i was very pleased with chad at rose city motors in fortwayne,in. he was polite and awsome to help me get the truck i so much needed and wanted. ill go no where else to buy from here on out.thank you very much chad from rose city motors of fortwayne,in

Reply

Dennis June 18, 2013 at 6:03 pm

My salesman was Zac Wells. He was very easy to talk to, knowledgeable and friendly. I was comfortable talking to him.

Reply

ashley cooper June 19, 2013 at 12:14 pm

My husband and I just came from the Reynolds rd location and I have to say that this is the best experience I’ve had with a dealer. Matt pawliski was amazing to work with. He went above and beyond to get us the vehicle we wanted. We will be returning!!

Reply

Janice McDonald June 22, 2013 at 6:00 pm

We are sadifed with the seaves that Chad did with us hear in Fort Wayne ,In

Reply

Judy September 8, 2013 at 8:34 am

Glad I read all the reviews, now will not ever call them for a car, also will pass this review site onto anyone even remotely thinking of calling them for a car or truck or anything.

Reply

Cerise October 22, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Guess I won’t even bother going here. What a disappointment!!!!

Reply

Anita December 31, 2013 at 11:24 am

Just purchased my second car from these guys. And man they are really awesome. Best place to purchase a good used car. Thanks. Rose City Motors.

Reply

Anita December 31, 2013 at 2:02 pm

THANKS Ron Lytle and all the guys @Rose City Motors, Fort Wayne IN.

Reply

Anonymous March 29, 2014 at 2:16 pm

i am very very dissapointed in the reviews that i am reading for your car lot was coming there but i refuse to now!

Reply

Very Disappointing April 22, 2014 at 2:04 pm

I bought a 06 cts from Jackson Rose city motors last year I have put close to $5000 in engine repairs rose city has done nothing but lied the are total scams and they should be prosecuted, I don’t care what kind of financial problems you have STAY AWAY!!!

Reply

kathy b July 8, 2014 at 4:53 pm

has anyone delt with the south bend rose city what do you think

Reply

Anonymous October 6, 2014 at 11:42 pm

For sure not coming after reading these

Reply

Desire carter November 10, 2014 at 12:13 am

This review about Labadie car dealership in bay city mich same as other complains as these the head sales person of used cars is a lier and a dishonest will rip u off and smile at u while he’s doing it very high pressure sale techniques!! When something happens to your car he dosent want to talk to u sorry it’s a used car ,, Don’t ever go there especially if it’s jerry the boss

Reply

Common Sense December 13, 2014 at 3:36 pm

If all of these people would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau maybe something would happen

BBB Business Review
What is a BBB Business Review?

overview
complaints
customer reviews
directions

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Rose City Motors

(269) 345-5500

6064 Gull Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49048-9452

BBB® Non-Accredited B+ Rating

On a scale of A+ to F

Reason for Rating

BBB Ratings System Overview

SharePrint

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Rose City Motors is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Rose City Motors’ rating include:
BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating.
BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business. BBB made two or more requests for background information from the business. BBB has not received a response from this business and/or has not been able to verify information received from this business.

Factors that raised Rose City Motors’ rating include:
Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months

Complaint Type

Total Closed Complaints

Problems with Product / Service 3
Advertising / Sales Issues 0
Billing / Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Read Complaints | Definitions | BBB Complaint Process | File a Complaint

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rose City Motors

Customer Experience

Total Customer Reviews

Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Read Customer Reviews | Submit a Customer Review | See Trends in Customer Reviews on Rose City Motors
– See more at: http://www.bbb.org/western-michigan/business-reviews/auto-dealers-used-cars/rose-city-motors-in-kalamazoo-mi-38117637#sthash.9mBaiHJv.dpuf

Reply

Leave a Comment

Car Dealer Reviews - View ratings and reviews from car buyers in your area, or write one of your own to have your voice heard.
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Salesperson:
Price:
Customer Service:
Honesty:
Financing:
Overall Rating:
Rating: 2.3/5 (8 votes cast)

Write a Detailed Review Below:

Previous post:

Next post: