Car Dealer Reviews
Loading
Sponsored Links

Gibson Truck World

50 comments


Gibson Truck World Address
Gibson Truck World
3455 S Orlando Dr
Sanford, FL 32773-5607
Gibson Truck World Website - Phone - Fax
Phone: 4073210660
Fax: 4073213322
Website: Yes

Gibson Truck World Information
Dealer: Used Car Dealers
Contact: Bill Zamora - Owner
Employees: 75
Yearly Sales Estimate: 48525000

BBB Accreditation - A+ as of 4/25/2012

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/1999

BBB has determined that Gibson Truck World meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Gibson Truck World, 3.3 out of 5 based on 9 ratings
Sponsored Links

{ 50 comments… read them below or add one }

Fane Smith September 21, 2010 at 11:41 pm

I bought an 04 Dodge Ram Dually 4×4 Diesel from Gibson Truck World, Sanford Florida. The truck had about 200,000 miles on it. I was told that the truck was in great shape and, when I explained why I needed it I was told “it would be perfect for the job” We already have an identical truck, we know what they can do if maintained and cared for. We also know they can run for 600,000 miles.
Thus far, slightly less than one month into the purchase we have:
Towing fees for the breakdown outside of San Antonio TX ($400.00)
Replacement of the Throttle position sensor, because the truck refused to move when you hit the accelerator. ($685.00)
Replacement of the factory Tow Hitch as it literally fell off when we attached our first boat to it. ($385.00)
Replacement of the Injector pump ($1010.00)
Towing fees for the breakdown outside of Bakersfield CA ($480.00)
***Called Gibson Truck World*****…..not even a return phone call. Buy anywhere, but not from here.
There is a reason they want you to give a “testimonial” BEFORE you drive off the lot.

Reply

Kim, Controller at Gibson April 25, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Yves Belanger

Gibson’s Response to Reviews: We at Gibson Truck World have a 23 bay service department with 6 technicians, one alignment specialist, one tire specialist, one shop manager, one shop foreman, 3 parts and service writers, and one service advisor for repair and routine service work on all of our certified trucks. Gibson Truck World spends over $100,000 per year on our Bumper to Bumper warranty valid across the continental United States! Yes, OVER $100,000 spent to repair transmissions and other issues that occur AFTER the truck leaves our lot – problems that there is no way possible for Gibson to know about or control! All of our certified trucks has had a full 135 point inspection before it is sold. Unless of course you actually purchased one of our destined for the auction “behind the fence” deal trucks that are not up to Gibson Certified standards, sold as-is and do not come with our 12 month bumper to bumper warranty. Gibson Truck World spends thousands of dollars in customer service satisfaction because both our reputation and making happy, repeat/referral customers are our top priorities! And I’d say we do a very good job considering that 60% of our sales come from repeat and referral customers! Nobody else stands behind their inventory like the King Of Trucks so please feel free to contact us directly if you have any questions. We will be happy to have a truck specialist tour you through our Disaster Prevention Center to see all of the drum containers overflowing with hundreds of worn out tie rods, ball joints, rotors, and thousands of brake pads removed and replaced with new before our certified trucks are sold. Contact us at 8664427667 or visit our website!

Reply

Roger Zalneraitis November 11, 2010 at 5:23 pm

I have now completed my second year of ownership of my 2004 Dodge Ram 2500 truck. I got an excellent price for the truck in October of 2008 and Kelley Blue Book lists the average retail price today at $1000 more than what I paid then. In 2 years and 60,000 miles I have replace the tires and today a radiator that had a small leak. (I replaced it rather than solder the leak) The Sales and Management at Gibson have been forthright and I am now shopping for two more trucks, one for my wife and one for my sons. You will have to give the truck away to make me not buy my next truck from Yves Belanger and the gang at Gibson Truck World.

Reply

jermey May 13, 2011 at 4:46 am

Replacement of the factory Tow Hitch as it literally fell off when we attached our first boat to it. ($385.00)
Replacement of the Injector pump

Reply

Crystal Creighton January 18, 2011 at 3:49 pm

We just recently purchased (or so we thought) a 07 GMC Sierra 2500 from Gibson truck world. We signed loan papers, we’re told our payment, intrest rate, tt&l, the usual when purchasing a vehical. Little did we know that they had not even gotten us approved through their bank. They did not tell us that, we were told to take everything out of the old truck such as toolbox, fifth wheel hitch, and personal belonging. We have had this truck for three days now and they just called us and told us we have to bring the truck back. The man in finace did not inform us that this deal was not done. Even our salesman told us this was our new truck. You should not be able to do this to people. Its wrong in more ways then one. If the deal was not done we would have been fine with leaving in the truck we came in until everything was finalized. Instead we have to drive the three hours back there and spend two hours moving everything over again. I am very disapointed and hurt by the way we were treated at Gibson Truck World. I would not recommend this place to anybody. When I’m purchasing a vehical I want to be treated right and I want people to be honest to me, Gibson Truck World was neither.

Reply

Yves Belanger March 18, 2011 at 10:44 am

Gibson’s Response to Reviews: We at Gibson Truck World have a 23 bay service department with 6 technicians, one alignment specialist, one tire specialist, one shop manager, one shop foreman, 3 parts and service writers, and one service advisor for repair and routine service work on all of our certified trucks. Gibson Truck World spends over $100,000 per year on our Bumper to Bumper warranty valid across the continental United States! Yes, OVER $100,000 spent to repair transmissions and other issues that occur AFTER the truck leaves our lot – problems that there is no way possible for Gibson to know about or control! All of our certified trucks has had a full 135 point inspection before it is sold. Unless of course you actually purchased one of our destined for the auction “behind the fence” deal trucks that are not up to Gibson Certified standards, sold as-is and do not come with our 12 month bumper to bumper warranty. Gibson Truck World spends thousands of dollars in customer service satisfaction because both our reputation and making happy, repeat/referral customers are our top priorities! And I’d say we do a very good job considering that 60% of our sales come from repeat and referral customers! Nobody else stands behind their inventory like the King Of Trucks so please feel free to contact us directly if you have any questions. We will be happy to have a truck specialist tour you through our Disaster Prevention Center to see all of the drum containers overflowing with hundreds of worn out tie rods, ball joints, rotors, and thousands of brake pads removed and replaced with new before our certified trucks are sold. Contact us at 8664427667 or visit our website!

Reply

jermey May 13, 2011 at 4:47 am

I bought an 04 Dodge Ram Dually 4×4 Diesel from Gibson Truck World, Sanford Florida. The truck had about 200,000 miles on it

Reply

ron martin June 7, 2011 at 4:53 pm

dont believe nothing they say didnt tell me my tk had been wrecked said i had 2years and 34000miles left on dodge warranty came 3000 miles left sosee what i got so dont trust these guys until you check

Reply

Cory June 28, 2011 at 9:27 pm

I worked a deal with Gibson Truck World over the phone and computer regarding a 2005 Chevy 1500. The vehicle as described on THEIR website was Black, 85200mi, CERTIFIED to their standards with the 135 point inspection, and came with the 1 year bumper to bumper warranty. I told them that I had been approved at MY bank for a loan and told them the terms, I was told “we can beat that!” After driving 2.5 hours to Sanford I was greeted at the door, found my salesman and was escorted to see my new/used vehicle. I was presented with a CHARCOAL Chevy 1500, that had 89000 mi, nails in the rear tires, a dent and paint transfer on the passenger side, an AC switch that only worked on high, had never seen a detail shop, and a shimmy and pull in the non-existing alignment. I was told that this truck was to be sold AS IS. After 2 hours of renegotiating, both parties agreed to have all problems fixed and to have the vehicle delivered to me. When it came to go to the finance table I was presented with my terms (remember they said they would beet my own banks terms). What was put in front of me was a rate nearly double that of my own bank and for payments $60 more a month then what was agreed upon. That was the icing on the cake, we left back home, 2.5 hours later with no truck. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND GTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you do decide to use GTW for your next purchase,make sure you get EVERYTHING in writing first!

Reply

Yves Belanger June 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

Gibson Truck World’s Response:
We would like to start out by saying that Gibson Truck World has a no-haggle price policy for all of our vehicles because we only mark-up each truck by $700. This is why we have the highest quality trucks at the very lowest prices available, and we will pay out $1,000 if you find a better truck for less! That being said, if a customer still requests a discount we will take a few hundred dollars off the selling price and offer the truck to the customer without our exclusive One year Bumper to Bumper Warranty, One Year of Free Maintenance and our 15 Day Return policy. The Dark Gray Metallic Chevy 1500 with exactly 87,567 miles was a vehicle we very recently received as a trade-in and was still in the waiting line scheduled to be serviced when Cory first contacted us. Cory requested a discount price for the Chevy, so we complied and informed him over the phone, that with this discount, he will no longer be eligible for our Warranty program. Cory agreed to this and gave a deposit on the truck. However, once Cory arrived at the dealership, he decided that the benefits of a serviced truck with the Bumper to Bumper warranty far outweighed the discount and decided it was better to pay the difference and buy the truck with our warranty.
Cory had also told our truck specialist over the phone that he was able to get his own financing however wanted to see if we could get him a better deal. Since we can get rates as low as 2.7% with approved credit, we told him that may be an option. Due to many factors and the fact that this
truck is a 2005; we were able to offer Cory a rate of 4% for a 48 month term with payments of $365 per month. He said that this payment was too high and decided to leave the dealership that evening without the truck and provide his own financing with his bank’s offer instead – which was the same 4% rate but for a longer term.
We tried very hard to please Cory and even offered to fill his own car’s tank with gas for the inconvenience of switching back to a certified option with his truck, but he refused our offer numerous times. When Cory left the dealership, we told him that we would have the truck delivered to him, serviced with a warranty and he would not have to make the 2.5 hour drive back himself to get the truck. It wasn’t until the next day that Cory called the dealership and requested his deposit back informing us that he no longer wanted to purchase this Chevy. We went above and beyond with this offer considering it was Cory’s choice in the first place to take a discount instead of the warranty. We believe that Cory’s final decision not to purchase was based solely on personal financial reasons, and not because Gibson Truck World deceived him in any way.

Reply

kurtis August 15, 2011 at 8:06 pm

I have mixed reviews on GTW. We came out of state to buy a truck. We had a friendly sales member spend literally all day helping us find the right one. Our problem now, only months later…..we are moving out of the country ( due to my job) and we no longer need our truck. We owe more than the truck is worth. And this is with a large down payment. I did the research and found out we overpaid by a bit for this truck. I do recommend GTW for amazing trucks and good service but it seems the prices are a little high.

Reply

seriously? September 3, 2011 at 7:45 pm

You bought it for that price, if it was too much- shame on you…

Reply

frog October 8, 2012 at 6:32 pm

Yea,your immaturity is showing;)

Reply

Tim Cotton August 24, 2011 at 7:58 pm

As a fellow truck lover myself. i was recently at an auction with a friend looking for a truck.The claim that they only mark up trucks $700 is total BS. I personally saw them purchase the 2008 duramax diesel monster with red wheels for $7,000 less than what they are asking. That was a shocking claim to see one thing being said and doing another.

Reply

Yves Belanger August 27, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Tim, It seems that you forgot to take a look at our Shop Bill expenses Tim! We are not a dealership that buys and sells trucks As-Is. Gibson Truck World invested $5,881.68 in service on this truck! Please feel free to come in yourself and ask to see our shop bills, or view it on our website at http://www.gibsontruckworld.com, they are readily available for anyone to see. But for your convenience, here is a breakdown for you. Repair Description: Mounted & Balanced $2,007 worth of 6 Brand New Tires, Installed Missing Particulate Tank = $1,050, Installed Muffler with Tail Pipe, 10 Mile Road Test, 135 Point Inspection, Lube, Oil & Filter, Replaced Wiper Blades, Cleaned & Oiled Air Filter, Installed Nerf Bars, Alignment, Installed Kick Plates, Replaced Seat Belt Buckle, Replaced Door Lock Actuators = $4156.68. Detail = $300. Body Shop, touch-up, sand and buffed entire truck = $375. TOTAL INVESTED = $5,881.68. Labor Time Quoted By Universal ShopKey Provided By Snap-On.

Reply

Mack Duke October 25, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Gibson Truck World shop bills are extremely inflated and do not perform the exact work as they print on their shop bills. One of their salesmen explained that it’s hit and purposely missed so the owner cannot lose any of the $3000-$5000 pack (owner-profit) depending on how much is paid for the unit before the advertised price. He also said they do honestly spend over $120,000 / month in advertising. So how can they not make minimum $3-4k per unit?? It’s 80% in the pack, never spoken of, withholding company, etc… according to their unnamed salesmen. He said make sure you get an independent certified technician to verify this over sold shop investment per unit. He also stated the body shop in need of expanding and always busier than the service dept. ever is.

Reply

Yves Belanger February 3, 2012 at 9:03 am

I’m sure you mean our so called “competition” when you speak of an “unnamed salesman” informing you about how we run our business. Our shop bill prices are quoted By Universal ShopKey Provided By Snap-on, the industry standard. I encourage you to actually come to the dealership and take a tour for yourself and you will see all the thousands of replaced parts in bins we have out of display. It’s really too bad that other dealers out there feel the need to lie about our reputable business practices using smoke and mirror tactics to confuse the consumer and direct attention away from themselves. And yes, our policy has ALWAYS encouraged our customers to have our trucks inspected, we have nothing to hide!

Reply

Terry April 13, 2013 at 3:58 pm

@Mack Duke; You’re an idiot; please have someone proof read your paragraph before you post. Also get your facts together before you open your (cake-hole) about a company. Here are some facts for you, Mack Duke. I worked at Gibson Truck World for almost 4 years as a mechanic, I can personally tell you that every truck we worked on was put back to factory specifications or as close as possible. People are going to complaint about purchases they make with anything in life. BUT; when you state something as a fact, you should first do your homework.
Good Luck To You In The Future Mr. Duke…

Reply

bob September 7, 2011 at 12:11 am

Sounds like this company is filled with douchbags. They are too busy trying to cut down the customer and make themselves look better. I wouldnt buy a diesel there. You can take the $1000 claim and keep it. You might need it for another repair for your certified garbage truck.

Reply

Angela, Director of Marketing September 21, 2011 at 11:17 am

Obviously, we can’t please everyone. However, in the past 15 years since Gibson has been in business, we have sold used trucks to over 30,000 satisfied customers. We were awarded #18 out of the 37,717 US Independent Dealers, and you don’t achieve that great accomplishment by ripping people off and selling poor quality vehicles. Period. Our business strives on reputation that is why we stand behind our inventory with a warranty. If you would like to know the quality of our inventory and the people working at our dealership, I personally invite you to come and meet us and take a tour. I, Angie, have been the Director of Marketing at Gibson Truck World for years. Before Gibson, I graduated from College with a BA and also spent a semester abroad in England. I have traveled the world and encountered people from all walks of life. In my free time, I work with the owner’s wife Devon Belanger using funding / sponsorship from Gibson Truck World to rescue and save dogs on death row out of a local kill shelter just before they are given an Intracardial injection, which is an extremely inhumane way to euthanize an animal. We save these innocent animals from pain and suffering, bring them back to health and give them a second chance at life. You can learn more about me, Devon and the rescue we started with Gibson Truck World at http://www.gibsontruckworld.com/internetSpecials.aspx. All we ask is that you allow us the opportunity to show you why we differ from all the other dealers out there before you form an opinion about our people and our product.

Reply

Bill September 19, 2011 at 3:18 am

I am reading these reviews and it is hard to say what really is the truth. I was looking at the Gibson Truck inventory and it appears they have some deceit trucks. The prices appear to be on the high side. The claim that the trucks are being sold at about $700 over their cost is most likely false. In their mind, they may justify this claim be using this so called “snap-on” maintenance rate which is most likely very high and not their actual cost. I do not know. It has been my experience that car salesmen are not honest. Their job is to sell the vehicle plane and simple. So called reputable dealer may or may not be Gibson Truck World. We really do not know and it all depends on your experience with them. Experience with car/truck purchasing is usually negative. Reviews usually come from people complaining rather than people who are happy. If you live close to GTW, then their warranty is a good thing. How many used car/truck dealers give any warranty? Some reviews I read are from people that seem to be a little unreasonable and upset. If you are buying a truck from GTW, ask them if you can have local dealer do an inspection at your cost. If they say no, I would run. If they say yes, spend the money for the peace of mind. Do this before you purchase.

Reply

Angela, Director of Marketing September 21, 2011 at 10:22 am

Bill, I personally would like to start off by apologizing on the behalf of the other dealership that has wronged you. It appears that you have been treated very poorly in the past because of your statement “It has been my experience that car salesmen are not honest”. Obviously you have never been to Gibson Truck World because we stand behind our inventory 100%. Our trucks are not only decent; they are serviced, certified and come with a 1 Year Bumper to Bumper warranty valid across the United States. So, it really doesn’t matter where you live to take advantage of our outstanding service. Gibson spends over $250,000 per month inspecting and serving our trucks. Additionally we spend $12 – $15K per month CSI (after purchase customer satisfaction) for our warranty program, including warranties to our out-of-state customers. We give bumper to bumper warranty on our certified trucks ranging anywhere from 10K miles to 120K miles. It is mandatory for each truck specialist to give our customers a tour of the shop and at any time our customers are welcome to visit our Body Shop and watch us paint flares, bumpers and tailgates. Gibson Truck World employs a full-time staff of Certified Mechanics. I would love to invite you come to the dealership and I’ll give you a tour! You can see our showroom which continuously plays video testimonials of a few of our 30,000+ satisfied customers. I can walk you around the 275+ trucks on our lot in the Florida sunshine, and show you our 25 Bay Disaster Prevention Center overflowing with hundreds of worn out tie rods, ball joints, rotors, and thousands of brake pads removed and replaced with new before our trucks are sold. We have nothing to hide – in fact, you can go to our award winning website gibsontruckworld.com and not only see all of our inventory, shop bills, photos, and live video walk-arounds– but you can also see me – Angie, Director of Marketing on our Sales Staff page, as well as the rest of our Gibson team. You will notice right on the homepage of our website that we 100% agree with you about doing your research before you purchase any used vehicle! We welcome you to take our trucks and have them inspected with someone else. We will even pay for the inspection by removing the cost of the inspection from the selling price of the truck. Gibson spends thousands of dollars in customer service satisfaction because both our reputation and making happy, repeat/referral customers are our top priorities! And I’d say we do a very good job considering that 60% of our sales come from repeat and referral customers! You are right Bill, nobody else gives a warranty on used trucks and nobody else stands behind their inventory like the King Of Trucks!

Reply

Bill September 21, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Angela. I appreciate your response and find it commendable how you people defend your business. Your website displays the story of “Beware of a Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing.” This is good reading and we as customers really truly want to believe that we are being treated honestly. Yes, you are correct about me having bad experiences with car salesmen. I am 3 for 3 on my last purchases. I can think back about all my car/truck purchases and can only come up with a few that were good. Of the 3 out of 3, two of the vehicles had been wrecked and I had not noticed at time of purchase nor did carfax indicate any accidents. At the time, I looked them over what I thought was a good inspection only later to discover they had body/paint repair. I also asked the salesman about any know issues. Dealers were McNatt Honda (Denton, TX) and Texas Direct of Houston. When buying the 3rd vehicle I overheard the salesman say to the manager “I got him for an additional thousand.” Diffie Ford El Reno, OK. I also gave Diffee Ford my repair info I had on the Lexus I traded in and asked them to be sure my personal information was not passed on to buyer. You guessed it, new buyer called me up some months later and told me they bought my car. Even after the incident, I chose Diffee Ford as dealer of choice. That salesman was new to them and I think they let him go. Only after being burnt on service on my F350 and Navigator did I give up on Diffee. That being said you guys maybe good people but you have “many” others in your business giving car salesmen a bad reputation. We customers want a dealer/ salesperson that we can call on the phone, get straight answers with nothing held back and feel comfortable about the purchase. Comfortable enough to send the check and have it shipped without personal inspection. We seek that kind of relationship and excellence.

Reply

Angela, Director of Marketing September 29, 2011 at 10:20 am

Thanks Bill, you are welcome to come see our dealership anytime!

Reply

Mr & mrs dinatale September 29, 2011 at 3:18 pm

I cannot believe what I am reading. I bought two trucks from gtw and I think that they are the best dealership I have ever used ! Mike has gone above and beyond for us, he even personally bought my trade in…. The warranty is also above and beyond anything I could of imagined, my diesel dually blew up the transfer case 1500 miles from home in a snow storm…one call and I had it fixed at a unrelated trans shop in new England a.s.a.p … You know what it cost me ? $ 50.00 , ya I got a $2k transfer case in feb 1500 miles from home thanks to the coverage from Gibson truck world… I don’t know what else to say but If I was you I would go see mike and buy your truck now… Thanks again guys, gtw rocks !!

Reply

steven j reynolds October 17, 2011 at 5:52 pm

i brought a 2003 f250 and iam happy with the dealership and them standing behine what they said only thing ididnt get was a promise from lieing saleman iam in wheel chair and needauto door opening buttons he promised a year ago iam from camilla ga iwould buy anther truck there and going to by xmas BUT NOT FROM THE SAME LIEING SALEMAN AND HE KNOWS WHO HE IS PLEASE MR SALEMAN DONT LIE TO THE BLIND AND HANDY CAP SEND MY OPENERS IAM ON FIXED INCOME PS ITS NOT GTW. THAT PROMAS ME IT WAS HIM AND SALES MANGER GODBLESS CAMILLAGA.

Reply

Mike.... December 17, 2011 at 6:35 pm

I felt I should write this after reading complaints from consumers about Gibson I am sure that they aren’t perfect but as far as a used dealership goes, I have been to many car dealerships in my 36 yrs I was impressed to see the vehicles in different states of repair in the service bays I have never seen a used car dealer invest money in a used vehicle before it’s sold (to this degree) most wait to see if you will notice or complain about an issue…. I am writing this before I buy my truck at Gibsons, do your homework, read up on the dealer BEFORE you buy the car or truck, also you are buying a used vehicle, older vehicles will have service data that shows trends for problems check it out first, and despite all this it may breakdown, new cars breakdown, so if you don’t have the money and skill to fix it buy a warranty or buy a new car, of course for far more money…the common used car warranty I am familiar with was 3000 miles or 30 days and only covered driveline components, theirs is better….It is almost impossible to predict internal engine and transmission problems unless there is a trend in breakdowns…..I plan to purchase a truck from GTW with an extended warranty.
And Sean my salesman was perfect, he listened to what I said was not pushy showed me around showed me the truck that brought me there and gave me some info to read hopefully my truck won’t breakdown but I am as prepared as I can be if it happens……

Reply

Yep December 24, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Whatever, all stealerships are con artists. plain and simple

Reply

Juan Lopez April 21, 2012 at 3:16 pm

I will start by saying that you always run a risk when buying a used vehicle. When I first visited Gibson I was impressed with their operation. Now three trucks later I guarantee you I will never purchase a vehicle from them again. My first truck was involved in roll over that I didn’t notice at the time of purchase. My second truck was my mistake from going from a diesel to gas with all the towing I do. My third truck which I have now has also been in wreck. I recently went to Gibson to explain my concerns and hoping for some sympathy in my bad luck of picking wrecked vehicles of their lot and all i got was the typical dealership sales pitch. I understand how a business runs and its not always about profit sometimes you try and make it right. I live in Sanford and till now have kept my silence on my experiences with Gibson thinking that one day they would make it right but this is the point of no return for me. Also beware when you buy extended warranties on lifted trucks because any truck lifted over six inches will not be covered by any warranty company. This was another experience I had with Gibson when I purchased my first truck and I repeatedly asked them if this was possible and they told me they had a special company that would cover. All I’m saying is this; do you homework take your time and don’t be fooled by a slick sales pitch. One more thing, if you’re a gambling person and decide to go Gibson ask for Leo its the only good thing you will remember.

Reply

Yves Belanger, Owner April 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Juan, you have purchased three trucks from us since 2008. Your first, a 2005 Ford F250 with 46,496 miles was in October 2008. (We are attaching the VIN so that you may verify this information for your own records.) VIN 1FTSW21P05EC62240 states “No accident / damage reported to CARFAX” and “there have been no accidents reported to AutoCheck”. As of today, this truck has zero record of any accident or “roll-over” as you indicated in your complaint. Finding the truck’s sticker in the glove box, which you told us was the source of this reasoning, does not indicate a roll-over, accident, or being hit by a train, it just means the sticker could have come off when the truck was being pressure washed. At the time of trade-in your F250 had 79,462 miles. So, for two and a half years you enjoyed 32,966 of headache and worry free miles with this truck, never complaining to us about any concerns as our record indicates.
The second truck you purchased in April 2011 was a 2007 GMC 1500 with 64,889 VIN 2GTEK13C171527720 which also clearly states “No accident / damage reported to CARFAX” and “there have been no accidents reported to AutoCheck”. You drove 4,655 of complaint free miles and traded the truck back in with us in June 2011 stating only that you made a mistake buying a gas truck instead of the diesel that you need.
In June 2011 you purchased a 2008 Ford F250 VIN 1FTSW21RX8EC33706 with 31,177 miles, again this truck also clearly states “No accident / damage reported to CARFAX” and “there have been no accidents reported to AutoCheck”. In December when you came in to have the “clunk noise” checked out, we removed the driveshaft and lubricated yoke immediately with no other issues and that took care of your concerns.
Last week, you came into the dealership with the intention to trade this truck in and purchase your 4th truck from us, our 2008 F350 Diesel Monster with 40” tires and a bigger lift. You put 26,000 of no-complaint miles on your F250 since June 2011. The standard simple formula uses $3,000 depreciation in value each year and .25 cents per mile at 26,000 miles equals $6,500. This calculation would give you a $30,495 value based on the original selling price of $39,995, BUT we offered you $33,000 giving you $2,505 more than book value of what your truck is worth and including the $1,980 of 6% tax savings equals $34,980! Our offer is only a $5,000 depreciation which equals only .10 cents per mile driving on your lifted truck! You had $4,000 cash down, but in order to purchase the truck you wanted, the bank needed an additional $2,000 cash down – which you did not want to pay. So instead of choosing a truck within your budget, you left with your F250 and decided to make up 4 years’ worth of imaginary complaints about us and post them online. The owner himself has spoken to you on many occasions and you NEVER ONCE complained to us directly about any of these fictitious issues. Since 2008 we have treated you, like we do all of our customers, with top-notch service and respect.
We understand that you had an issue with the first warranty we sold you because at the time you purchased your first truck, the insurance company did not cover an 8 inch lift. However, we recognized that mistake and honored everything within that policy ourselves, with the paperwork to prove it. You also mentioned to Kim our controller that “Gibson has been more than fair resolving this.” We now have many warranty options available that cover large, lifted trucks. We also would like to state that warranty companies are legally registered with the state of Florida; they are not a “slick sales pitch.”
After 4 years of owning 3 lifted trucks, driving 60,000+ miles, all your FREE maintenance appointments, and no problems what-so-ever all of a sudden you are only $2,000 away from purchasing your next truck and NOW you have complaints? Are you kidding me? We encourage you to go buy your next lifted truck from somebody else and see if you get a better service policy.

Reply

Juan Lopez April 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm

The sticker in the glove box was a square piece of metal that was cut out of the center pillar on the drivers side. Hell of a pressure washer. You guys are so used complaints your actually pretty good at responding to them. ” Worry free miles ” you think your the only mechanics in Sanford. It was just my luck that the repairs I made were after your one year guarantee. I can go on and on about how Ron told me over the phone that the 15 day return policy didn’t apply to lifted trucks when I wanted to bring the 2007 GMC back, or when Micheal Rey told me that the reason you didn’t like using Toyo MT tires is because they interfere with air pressure monitors. I guarantee they never said such things and I’m making it up. Why would you not have a five star rating in HONESTY that should come naturally. To bad I cant be rated, oh wait ” imaginary complaints , fictitious issues ” you already have. To be totally honest I only blame myself, I kept going back.

Reply

R. Higgins June 1, 2012 at 6:28 am

I feel extremely sad that I even have to write a review but my transaction at Gibson’s truck World warrants this for the advice and protection of those who might consider doing business with this unethical dealership. It has been almost one year since I went through the absolute worse purchasing experience of my life and I still am sorry I made the four 140 mile round trips just to conclude what should have taken less than one day and one trip.
Last April I was in need of a newer vehicle and because I tow a small boat, I decided on buying a Dodge Durango 4X4 SUV. If this vehicle would have been on the side of the road for sale by an individual owner I would have considered it. But searching the internet, I saw the car of my choice being offered by Gibson’s Truck World in Sanford Florida. I called the store and spoke to a salesman who assured me the vehicle I saw on-line was available at a great price. I stated my price range and asked if financing would bring the car into a range I could afford. Yes, I did say what I wanted to pay and was promised that it could be arranged on this Durango, so I made the trip of over 70 miles one way. When I arrived around noon, the car was pointed out to me but I was asked to come inside for qualification on financing before looking at the car. My salesman (James) was courteous but when I asked if the number I stated was going to happen, he walked away and came back with a no answer, strike one! I told James that was very disheartened as I truly believe his words of “yes we can” on the phone were sincere. The negotiations never went one inch in my favor but I still wanted a Durango so I had to make all the compromises, strike 2! Every counter offer I made, he had to leave his desk and speak with a gentleman behind a counter that was no more than just a few feet away from me, and of course returned to the table and said no. After many trips to the counter I was down to one dollars difference in monthly payments and James was again instructed to tell me sorry, no deal and unless I agreed to pay the price that was never quoted to me over the phone. I still proceeded and finally agreed to terms which were never dropped from the original price that I was told after arriving at Gibson’s. Now it was getting dark outside as evening was approaching and James then took me outside to see the Durango that I had finally agreed upon after being misled over the phone. Right away I noticed some rust around the trailer hitch on the back of the car and was told that the vehicle was a South Florida car that was used for the same purpose I intended to use it for, towing a small boat to the water. Being a lifelong Floridian, I can understand some rusting on a trailer hitch around saltwater but asked if the car could be put on one of your many lifts, so that I could see the underneath side. I was told all the lift operators had gone home for the day so that was not possible, even though I could plainly see many technicians working in the garages, strike 3! Not being able to see the undercarriage and being dark outside, I asked what protection I had should an inspection by a qualified mechanic find any deficiencies. James told me that Gibson’s warranty would protect me for period of time and to please call back if I find anything that would diminish the vehicle from how it was represented by the dealership. I traded my present car into Gibson’s and drove the 70 miles back to Cape Canaveral where I live. On the way home I wondered how such a transaction could be so difficult when in fact I would have bought a Durango of my choice that would be for sale from most any dealership.
Well the very next morning I took the Durango to a certified mechanic with an impeccable reputation in my area, left the car and had to get a ride to work so he could conduct a routine inspection. Not but an hour later, I received a call from the mechanic and was asked to come see his findings. When I arrived at his shop, the Durango was on a lift and plain to see that this car was rusted from bumper to bumper on the undercarriage. He also pulled up the car history and that is where I read that the car was not a Florida car at all but in fact a New York vehicle and was loaded with rust from road salt. Highly misrepresented, strike 4!
I immediately called Gibson’s and was directed to speak to a Mike who identified himself as a manager for Gibson’s. Mike said that they were sorry and to please return the car under the return policy. I drove another 70 miles back to Gibson’s that same day and when I arrived I was introduced to Mike who again said he was sorry and asked if I wanted to swap the vehicle for another car on the lot. He never even looked at the car I was returning and was happy to discuss a swap. I advised Mike that I was seeking a Durango and that was the real reason of driving the 140 mile round trip for this particular car. Mile said that Gibson’s would find another Durango comparable to the one I purchased and would call me as soon as it came in. Again driving 70 miles back home I waited a few days before I received a call from a guy named Tony who said he was the buyer for Gibson’s. Tony told me that he would find another used Durango but asked if I was willing to pay more should the next one be any newer. I explained to Tony that I was already misled on the pricing on the first one but I understood business so if the car is newer I can also understand a price difference. We hung up and about a week later Tony called to say he found the right Durango for me. Having been misled once, I asked Tony if the car was the same price, he responded by telling me to come on in and he was sure we could work out any differences. So again, I drive 70 miles one way and when I arrive, Tony tells me that unfortunately Gibson’s needed an additional 1200 dollars to make the trade. The replacement Durango was the exact same year but had 1800 less miles so the $1200 was to make up that difference. I asked Tony why he could not tell me this over the phone before the trip but I guess that was moot to him as he knew I could not stay in the rusted car sold me to me the first time. Looking the replacement car over, I could not help but to notice this next unit had less options than the first car, no chrome wheels, no luggage rack securing bars, faded dash panel and much more carpet wear. Pointing this out to Tony I asked if we could negotiate the $1200 dollars down as this was a lesser car than the first one. Tony said that he could not and I had to take it or leave it because he had many other customers looking at this one and it would be gone should I not take it that day. I tried to make Tony understand that I was already at my budget limitation having spent more than was not told to me on the rusted car I originally bought. I tried to have Tony understand my predicament and he responded by asking me if I believed in God….somewhat puzzled by this remark, I inquired why he would ask such a thing. He said, “Mr. Higgins, why don’t you go home and ask God to help you make this decision.” I told Tony that I believe God is very busy these days and would not ask him to intervene on a car purchase, strike 4 (if there is such a thing!) Tony then said he could not help me and that he would be calling the many others who showed interest in the replacement Durango. I again drove another 70 miles back home much rejected as I now felt I was not only misled but out and out cheated.
The next day I called Tony and asked that he please help me get out of the rusted vehicle and into the replacement car he had in stock. He said that he would do me a onetime favor and drop the trade price down to one $1000. I begged Tony to understand my limitations and negotiate with me for a solution. Tony promptly told me that he was considered a world class negotiator and was going way out on a limb for me as it was. I then asked Tony to honor the Gibson’s return policy and allow me to return the Durango that was now (within less than two months) showing external rust that was aggressively eating through the body, Tony said in a firm voice that he “did not like where this conversation was headed” and hung up on me. I guess to his credit, he did call me back and said that he would not marry me unless I brought $700 to seal the deal. I thought in my mind why he would say such a thing being a so-called world class negotiator as I did not want him to marry me at all, I just wanted him to stop fornicating me.
Again, I made the long drive back to Gibson’s and when I arrived, the next Durango was sitting out front and I was directed back to my original salesman James. The transaction started with me handing over the additional $700 and asking if it were possible for me to have the chrome wheels that I had already paid for on the rusted car. James went inside to the same counter gentleman that he had to check with many times on the first deal and returned by saying that I would have to take both cars across the street and pay a tire company to swap the tires. I could not help to notice that Gibson’s had many lifts available in their multiple car bays and asked James why they could not do it for me there. He said the sales manager was not willing to do so. I asked about the luggage rack bars on the top of the first car and again he went inside and asked the gentleman behind the counter; and returning to say no. I told James that I had already purchased those and why would the (presumably) manager not just walk the few feet outside and explain this to me in person instead of making him do back and forth trips for approvals. James said he was told that person did not want to talk to me. I asked if I could speak to YOU Mr. Belanger, whom I saw standing inside talking to another salesperson. I was told that YOU do not speak to customers directly and would also not be willing to speak to me…are we at strike 5 yet? I walked to James’ desk one last time to sign for the truck and noticed a sign above his desk that read, “CarMax sold over 3 million cars last year without giving one discount.” I assumed this is meant for your employees as a sales incentive, not to be persuaded to negotiate pricing. I told James that probably the reason CarMax does not discount is because they approach their transactions from an honest, integrity position and that I can only assume that is where I probably should have gone in the first place.
James had now spent the better part of his day with me and I suppose that eliminated himself from seeing new customers that day, I truly hope he receives a salary otherwise he was unable to make much of a commission on one returned car. My frustrations were not over unfortunately, as I was now directed to the finance person to do the monetary paper work. At this gentleman’s desk, I was told the financing was changing from the amount I originally signed for to an additional $75 a month, which I am sure, was related to me and not them? I was really disappointed that I had even considered Gibson’s by this time and dejected but it got worse. I was shown the new charges and could see there was a trade cost attached to the replacement Durango, I explained to the finance gentleman that I was not trading my car in but was in fact returning it under Gibson’s Warranty Policy. He said it was a trade no different than had I just came off the street with a car of many years and there was a cost to that transaction..Strike I do not know, I give up!
Mr. Belanger, I know this letter is long but I assure you it is not nearly as long as the transaction or many, many miles I had to travel to first buy a car from you and then to seek some kind of resolution to a deal that was seriously misrepresented so I sum up by listing my observations and frustrations…
• I asked if I could buy my Durango from Gibson’s at a stated price and was assured your dealership could make things happen in my behalf- WRONG.
• I was told to ask God for purchasing assistance- WAY WRONG.
• Tony told me he is a world class negotiator. I deal with very high-end consumers all the time and dishonesty, insults and personal humiliation are not even in the vocabulary of class negotiators. Please correct him sir as he is so far WRONG. Right down the street from your business is Parker Boats, please feel free to ask the owner of that business about my integrity
• When your customers have no one to turn to for compassion and consideration, please make yourself available if not to just hear my pain, PLEASE.
• I would have bought this car from an individual had it been available, it was not, so I came to you, thinking I was doing the right thing and being protected by a warranty. It was the Durango I was seeking, not humiliation after four 140 mile trips.
• The Durango I purchased would not and did not pass a two point inspection, please do not brag about a 140 point inspection in your advertising…I have many photos and will be happy to post them for your review, should you require proof of my words
• I do not believe proof is required because I saw the rusted car right back on your web–site for sale, the day after I returned it….you have got to feel remorse for the person that bought it after me unless they were told the truth from the beginning. I also felt it was not my place to post derogatory comments about your business at the time as I assumed you would intervene and remove the rusted car from inventory or sell it at an auction.
• In lieu of posting signs on your salespersons desk that read, CarMax does not negotiate so neither should they, please consider ethic’s training so your sales manager/buyer Tony can conduct himself in a professional manner…that is what sells cars and that is what consumers seek.
• I am sure you have thousands of satisfied customers because they got lucky and bought a vehicle that was not in such terrible condition, and misrepresented as the one sold to me in the dark. It is the car of choice that customers seek so it should be easy to make a sale without being belittled by your staff.

As I have stated, we are close to the one year anniversary of my coming to Gibson’s Truck World to buy a car. It took three months to conclude our transactions and even now, I am disappointed in myself for allowing your managers to treat me the way I was. I will be happy to provide my name and number (which should be easy for you to find in your sales records) and would be more than happy to discuss all of the above writings in person as opposed to on the internet…I was not allowed to speak to you in the store so I do not know of any other avenue to reach you. You may suggest that I could have written you a letter and mailed it you with the words I write today…I did sir, was it handed to you many months ago? If you wish to leave me better off, after dealing with your company, please consider at least giving me back the trade-in cost of the replacement car, simply because that is what it was, a replacement under warranty, not a trade-in as I had to pay more for. To identify me without me posting all of my personal information on the internet, I will tell you that I began my car buying experience with Gibson’s in mid-April of 2011 and concluded my sell in late June of the same year so it should be very easy to find my full name and number in your files. If not, please just ask and I will call you. I do not want to post such information because I do not want nor need Tony calling me to inform me that my God has done me wrong….how do words like that come out of a manager’s mouth?

I await your response and I remain,

Respectfully,

R. H.
Cape Canaveral FL

Reply

Angela, Director of Marketing June 19, 2012 at 11:42 am

R.H., we have made numerous attempts to reach you since you posted your review. You never answer our calls, your cell phone will not accept voice mail messages and you have not responded to any email we’ve sent. It is not fair of you to post such a one-sided review online asking for a response from us and then ignore every attempt we make to contract you. Please understand, Tony’s employment at Gibson was terminated almost a year ago. After we took care of the rust issue, the customer that purchased the truck you traded in, still owns it and we confirmed is extremely happy with their purchase and has had no issues at all.
We do however apologize if the difference in value between your two purchases was not explained to you clearly. You drove the first vehicle you purchased from us for 2,310 miles and we gave you back 100% of the value 9 weeks after your purchase. The exchange policy we offer at Gibson is only valid for 15 days after the sale, and you traded your truck in 9 weeks after you purchased it. The second vehicle you purchased, the 06 Dodge Durango had 18,700 LESS miles than your first vehicle which, if you do the math, 18,700 miles at $.015 per mile equals a dollar amount of $2,805. You should have been charged $2,805 additional but to accommodate you we actually only charged you $700 additional even though the second vehicle was really worth $2,805 more. Plus you re-financed your new loan at 60 months vs. 72 months giving you an additional savings.
Our owner, Yves Belanger works 7 days per week, is ALSO the Shop Service Manager, General Manager, and the head supervisor over the entire dealership including sales, body shop, parts, detailing and marketing! But even though Yves’ time is extremely limited, he is also always willing to speak with one of our customers if requested.
Again, R.H. we have tried to call you and email you, but you have not answered any of our attempts. Please call Kim Robinette, our Controller at 407-321-0660 to discuss your concerns further.

Reply

R. Higgins June 23, 2012 at 6:58 am

Angela, Thank you for finally responding to my posting, I really thought I was going to be set aside once again, it is kind of you to try and communicate with me.
I truly do not want to banter with Gibson’s and will make the call to Kim if you believe I will find some resolution to my complaint, thank you again for that opportunity. In preparation of my call please have the facts or at least my concerns at hand for Kim so she will to not feel obligated to try and defend Gibson’s to me, the deal is apparently done with no consideration or remorse to me. But…
• You stated that I traded the car in 9 weeks after my purchased. Angela, I brought the car back the very next day after purchasing it and was told to take it home while you find me a replacement. Should I have left it with you and taken a taxi back to Cape Canaveral and then back again when you finally located the replacement?
• I very much wanted to trade the vehicle back within one day. It was your manager who told me to keep it until another one was found…was this an attempt to make me keep it past the fifteen day return policy so that you could claim it to be a trade instead of a return? Understand, I wanted it gone in one day, it was Gibson’s who made me keep it longer so any incurred mileage was certainly not by my choice nor was driving back and forth the hundreds of miles just to deal with your dealership. Nearly 500 of those miles you record are for nothing more than driving from Cape Canaveral to Sanford for continued aggravation. Should I have parked it in the garage and walked to work until a trade could be concluded..I was not told to do this or suffer losing more money. Wish Gibson’s would have made this clear to me.
• You are very much correct in saying the second vehicle had 18,000 less miles and as I stated in my original letter, I do understand the value in the automotive world of less miles being an added incentive. No, I am not a car dealer so I would not know how to do the math or that each mile is worth .18 cents. Was I supposed to have that prior knowledge just to do business with Gibson’s?
• You say Gibson’s should have charged me $2,805 but only charged me $700. I right off see that you have not taken in consideration that many of the miles on the original car where directly related to me having to make many trips to Gibson’s and I am assuming I was going to get stuck with that depreciation. Gibson’s wanted to charge me $1,200, not the $700; I had to literally beg Tony after being told that he would not marry me for anything less. I also see that you are not even discussing the extra wear and tear on the second car and the less options that did not come on replacement unit. You have no problem charging per mile but, do not less options and more wear constitute some consideration? I even had to buy news tires for the replacement vehicle within a month of purchase as the ones on this car were already showing the warning bars in the tread, another $700 dollars. Do dealers who sell brand new cars charge the same per vehicle regardless of options added?
• If your return policy is real then you should have taken the rusted car back the first day and either given me my trade vehicle back or my original money back. Gibson’s (Tony) refused to do either, to the point of hanging up on me when this was requested. You advise that Tony was terminated, Angela that should not be a business discussion with me as that would have been Gibson’s concern, not mine. He was your manager and was acting as an agent for your business and it is apparent that both of us had to suffer that problem, with no consideration to me from Gibson’s. Unless you feel that firing him should make my situation all better???
• I am curious how Gibson’s took care of the rusting issue on the first car without having to replace all the components underneath the car. I have many pictures showing everything on the undercarriage being affected by rust, bumper to bumper. I could only imagine that replacing all of this would cost more than the total value of the car. Hopefully you did not just spray black paint over all the rust to cover it up like was done when I bought the car? And why was not this “took care of” done for me or even notice with the 140 point inspection Gibson’s claims to happen to all vehicles? It sure seems apparent that Gibson’s was willing to let me have the problem and only responded when it became a potential returned vehicle.
• I very clearly requested to speak with Mr. Belanger and viewed him standing inside. He may be willing to talk to customers but when told by your manager that he does not speak to customers, I can once again only imagine it is easy to make this claim if a customer cannot gain access. And remember how I said that I was told, even the gentleman sitting behind the counter who told my salesman to have me take two cars across the street to the tire store just so I could keep the chrome wheels that I paid for on the first car, would not want to speak to me either. Is your policy, sure they will talk to you but you just cannot get to them?
• Any additional savings that you say I got from financing from 72 months to 60 months would be between me and the loaner, not a savings given to me by Gibson’s, please do not credit for their discount.
• Angela, you really have not addressed or attempted to resolve any of my real concerns of being misled or the many ethical deficiencies that I suffered by trying to do business with Gibson’s Truck World other than to say the cost difference was my fault for having to drive hundreds of miles just to get out of a bad situation. Again, I not only notified your dealership of my problem the very day after purchase but I also drove to your dealership to very next day after purchase. Please do not try and make that my fault. I tried to return the car that day but was told no. The rotation and hiring & firing of your employees are not my concern and should not be used as an excuse from you for my bad treatment.
• I will sum up as it appears our discussions are all about how I screwed up and no remorse from your dealership. I will conclude on this post and I will call Kim. I hope she is not prompt to tell me everything was my fault as you are stating. I once again do thank you Angela for responding to me even if it is through this avenue which I find not professional at all. I have a home phone and a cell phone. I have home e-mail and work e-mail, all of which I have communicated with Gibson’s on in my many discussions, and have written the same information down on the many forms in Sales of financing at Gibson’s during my purchase agreements. I receive and respond to many calls, voice mails, e-mails daily. NOT ONE of those great inventions has any recorded voice mail, incoming calls or written messages on them from Gibson’s Truck World…except one. I did receive and e-mail from Gibson’s telling me to come on in for a Great Father’s Day Sale because Gibson’s Truck World wants to do you right! Are you laughing at me or laughing with me?

“Gibson Truck World would like to take this opportunity to personally say Happy Father’s Day from all of our staff.
This Father’s Day get Dad something he will really love! Gibson Truck World has over $6 Million of inventory in stock so you can be sure to get the perfect truck to show Dad just how much you appreciate him! With our exclusive 15 day return policy and free 1 year Bumper to Bumper warranty you can’t go wrong with a Gibson truck!”

R.H.
Cape Canaveral

Reply

R. Higgins July 17, 2012 at 10:54 am

Again I find myself in a need for posting comments regarding Gibson’ Truck World but instead of using the internet to lambast them for a terrible experience, I follow up with compliments to the management staff for reviewing my writings and responding accordingly. I received a phone call from Mile K and Kim a few days ago and both were sincerely apologetic about my troubles with Gibson’s and asked what they could do so as not to end a customer relationship. I explained that the car I ended up with from Gibson’s is a good truck but it was certainly not worth the hassle of buying from this place. I have been told the one rotten egg that I had to deal with is no longer employed there; guess you can’t hold that against them for too long. Kim asked what I felt was fair and I told her what would make me happy. You know how negotiating goes, were both parties loose a little…at the end of the day, it was a good feeling dealing with Kim and then concluding with a later phone call from Mike K.
Great people who did a good thing for Gibson’s Truck World and the little customer. What is the old cliché’ “it happens” and knowing that it does happen and how to handle the situation is what separates good companies. Mr. Belanger, Kim, Mike K and the hidden members of the assurance team, thank you for meeting me on common ground and taking all of my complaints in consideration. I did not get all I wanted but as the consumer, I too must play a role and responsibility of a previously owed vehicle and therefore believe Gibson’s was very fair to me in the end.

Lessons learn;
Is to not leave unhappy until you have voiced your concerns with the highest decision maker in the place. Gibson’s want to Sale cars and Mr. Belanger would not be happy if the deal was not made because of a personality conflict with an employee. Please allow and/ask to see the dealership manager if necessary.
Just knowing I have Kim or Mike K on my side, I would certainly consider Gibson Truck World again!

Thanks guys!

R. H.
Cape Canaveral

Reply

Troy August 8, 2012 at 7:30 pm

I would not ever even consider buying a truck from GTW. They look pretty there all jacked up on big tires but that’s all you get is a jacked up truck in price as well. All there trucks are wore out ,abused and used trade ins and trucks that came from the auction. Don’t make the mistake everybody else has made there read the reviews. If you want a truck go to a real dealership.

Reply

Yves Belanger, Owner August 13, 2012 at 9:21 am

You are entitled to your own opinion Troy, but since you don’t appear to be a legitimate customer with an actual complaint about an experience with us, it seems this is just a second-hand unfounded, speculative view formulated by you to sway people using malicious intent. Fortunately our customers are intelligent, educated consumers who are influenced by actual customer reviews and responses that describe factual experiences and not by non-customers who came here just to criticize for no reason.

Reply

Tray October 27, 2012 at 3:57 am

I just don’t know what to think I have read all the reviews I could find and its 4:00am I’m looking to buy a truck I have found a nice looking truck here at GTW…. I just don’t know what to do….i don’t want this to be a bad thing for me on my first real truck I want a truck that is done I don’t have the time to lift it nor put rims and tires on it…. its nice to find a truck that is already done but I don’t want it to fall apart going down the the road…..just unsure

Reply

Yves B. President February 14, 2013 at 9:15 am

Tray, Please visit our testimonials page on our website or call and speak to one of our truck specialists and come take a tour of our dealership. You will see for yourself everything that sets us apart from the rest.

Reply

C J April 7, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Yves, I live up in CT and your dealership ( through the internet ) caught my attention in regards to buying a dually diesel, I sit here reading these reviews and after reading R.H ‘s I have made my FINAL. YOU sir, and YOU alone turned me away from buying. R H asked not only in person there at your dealership, but also on here to speak with you. In reading all his posts and rebuttals from your staff it was never mentioned that you spoke with him. He did say that a “compromise” was worked out. The very next posts on here from someone who never claimed a real issue, YOU yes YOU not staff reply to it. You take the time to reply to a “not so legit” post but never once reply to R H’s interesting…. R H you got bit once on I lost count after 5 strikes…. Why the hell would you go back again and get bit?????? Glad I read these and SAVED not only HUGE miles in travel… BUT $$$$$$$$ as well G. T. W. = to shady for me

Reply

Yves B. President June 27, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Thank you CJ for your opinion, we wish you the best of luck in your purchasing decision.

Reply

C. Cope November 5, 2012 at 11:46 am

Looking forward to buying a truck from GTW. I live in Daytona and have lots of friends brag about the trucks from Gibsons. Just waiting on the right truck in my price range to pop up on the internet. tired of walking….. hope it pops up soon!

Reply

Yves B. President February 14, 2013 at 9:17 am

Thanks C. Cope! We appreciate your business! If you have not done so already, please ask about our referral program.

Reply

Richard Knoll February 3, 2013 at 12:52 pm

The 2006 Thunder Road 2500 5.9 Turbo.. After a day or so on the phone with arron a sales man I was told this truck was Mint and had been through a safety inspection and service inspection hahahahah Ya right .. So I put down a deposit and yesterday me and wife and kids Drive and hour and forty five min. to their lot and the first thing we see is a huge dint and rusting tail gate … Funny I never noticed but in all the pictures they put up of the truck none showed the tail gate now we know why .. So then on to the inside of the truck it was ok a little dirty but not bad.. so then on to the motor first thing I notices is the Fire wall and hood fabric used for noise damping was ripped down and just hanging so I pulled the Oil level stick to only find Black as cole Oil and the level 1/4 inch below the safe Operating range… so we take it for a test drive and every time I use the breaks It dives towards the passenger Front funny I was told this truck passed a 35 point safety inspection no way on earth this truck could have passed any real inspection by a real Mechanic and no way was i putting my two little boys in this accident waiting to happen truck.. So i asked if we could put the truck on a lift so i could check the ball joints and hub bearings I was told the work bays were full and it could not happen to day funny I drove 1hour and 45 min . and now I cant use a work bay for 10 MIN to check the front end but they want me to sign the paper work to buy it apparently they are not used to people actually wanting to check over a 24,000 dollar truck ??? So then their add on EBAY say the truck comes with a Warranty and the Add on their web sight does not specificity say either way yes or no .. SO I ask about it because I am concerned this Engine might be burring oil and of course do you think they would Honer their own EBAY add ???NOPE Arron told me no Warranty truck is sold “AS IS” funny I said you add clearly say COMES WITH A warranty he says “SO SUE US” at this point I got up walked to the back room where my wife and kids were waiting and then we went out the door only to be flagged down By RAY rea .. the sales manager I guess this is the part where the nicer dressed guy makes you a promise to try and get you back on track with buying their truck so this guy say “Hey what do we need to do to make a deal “?? I say I need to check the frount end for Berings or ball joint problems and this truck need a Power train Warranty like those adds say for one year because its either burring oil and the rings are bad or it has not been serviced in a very long time either way i’am not paying 24,000 for some thing that might need 5000 in repairs in a few months hes says well I could do 30 day warranty if that helps I said no It don’t and left !!! Never to return and I hope more people come forward about their false advertising and crappy sales and service people not to mention they buy a lot of their trucks from and auction and have no idea how the previous owner treated them …
(Lake Wales , FL )

Reply

Kim R. Controller February 14, 2013 at 9:12 am

Richard,
After we saw your review, we tried extremely hard to make you happy. Our controller Kim called you immediately and apologized for the misunderstanding and also apologized on behalf of Aaron since he is a new employee with us. Kim also told you that we would go ahead and perform the $5,800 needed in repairs to make this wholesale unit a warrantied truck. We would like to stress however, that this 2006 Dodge truck was not listed as a Gibson Certified truck on Ebay or our website. This truck was being sold with a 30 day Powertrain warranty ONLY because it needed $5,800 in repairs. It did NOT pass inspection. You verbally confirmed with both Aaron and Rea that you understood this was not a certified truck because it would cost us too much in repairs to keep the price low and did not qualify for our One Year Bumper to Bumper Warranty program. This truck was only being sold with a 30 day powertrain warranty. We have over 230+ certified trucks that come with a One year bumper to bumper warranty for the customer looking for a fully inspected, certified, no worries truck. But we also offer a handful of non-certified trucks for the customer that is specifically looking for a less expensive truck they can do work on themselves when needed. The Dodge you were interested falls under that second category – a less expensive, non-certified truck that will require additional maintenance after purchase. It is very clear on our website which trucks come with our certified, bumper to bumper warranty because they are marked as certified, they state both on the search results pages as well as in the individual description of each certified truck the details of the included One Year Warranty, they have a bumper to bumper warranty sticker across the windshield, and finally they have a Buyer’s Guide on the window stating the details of the One Year Bumper to Bumper Warranty. The Dodge you were interested in purchasing had none of those. We feel that you came here understanding the terms and conditions of the truck you were interested in, but thought if you made a big enough scene – both at the dealership as well as online – we would honor a One Year Bumper to Bumper Warranty instead of the powertrain only. This was made pretty clear when you began ripping posters off the wall of the dealership yelling false advertising while you were here. And we did agree to perform all the maintenance required to make this a certified truck for you. You and Kim spoke over the phone more than once discussing everything that needed to be done to the truck. You agreed you wanted to truck after the service was competed and you also agreed to modify this review and state how we made every possible effort to resolve your concerns. Then we did not hear from you in a couple days and when you finally returned our message, you told Kim that you changed your mind and didn’t want this truck after all. As far as not being able to put this truck up on the lift, we explained to you that our service department was already closed for the day. You did not arrive at our dealership until after 4pm on Saturday and our service department only has limited staff on Saturdays and closes at noon. Our insurance policy does not allow sales staff to put trucks up on a lift for inspection because they are not certified to do so. We welcomed you to either come back with your mechanic during business hours OR take the truck yourself to your mechanic for inspection. You imply that we were being deceptive by not allowing you to inspect the truck when you were here, when you were made well aware the only reason the truck could not be put on the lift was because we had no trained mechanics working in the evening to properly drive the truck on the lift.
Also, you said that you did not want to pay $24,000 for a truck that “might need” $5,000 in repairs. Well, you and Rea went over the shop bill estimate together and there was no misunderstanding of the repairs this truck needed. All $5,800 were disclosed to you on the provided estimate. And when you told Rea that you would only buy this truck if we honored a one year warranty, Rea said at that time that there was no way we could put a warranty on this truck at that moment because we already knew that the truck needed $5,800 in repair. However, when Kim called you back, we agreed to fix all the issues and honor the one year warranty if that was what we needed to do to make you happy.

Reply

Kim, Controller at Gibson February 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm

I am Kim Robinette, the Controller at Gibson Truck World. I read your complaint, Richard, and I personally called you and apologized on behalf of our salesman Aaron. Aaron is new with us and because he is excited and eager to be working here, he showed you this 2006 Dodge 2500 that was not a Gibson Certified truck and required $5,800 in service. We do sometimes sell a handful of non-certified trucks that are scheduled to go to the auction – only if we have a customer that is specifically looking for a less expensive truck they can do work on themselves. This Dodge was scheduled to go to the auction later that week. Aaron had been mistaken in showing you this truck when you were clearly expecting a fully serviced, Gibson Certified truck with our One Year Bumper to Bumper Warranty. As far as not being able to put this truck up on the lift while you were here, we explained to you that our service department was already closed by the time you arrived Saturday. Our insurance policy does not allow sales staff to put trucks up on a lift for inspection because they are not certified to do so, but they are allowed to put trucks on our drive lift on the front line of our dealership which we offered to do, but you declined. We also welcomed you to either come back with your mechanic during business hours or take the truck yourself to your mechanic for inspection. When we spoke on the phone, I told you that because you had driven your family 4 hours round trip to see this truck and were unhappy with the experience you had, that we would go ahead and perform all the needed service repairs including mounting 4 brand new ProComp tires! I told you that we would take the $5,800 loss to repair our reputation with you, and give you our 1 Year Bumper to Bumper Warranty to prove that we are not the dealership you described in your review! After two detailed phone calls you agreed to all the repairs we would complete FOR FREE and I sent over the requested documents to purchase the truck. In fact, I even told you I would have the truck delivered to your mechanic at no extra charge for your inspection. Two days went by and I heard nothing more from you – despite leaving you messages to confirm everything was to your satisfaction. On the third day, you answered my call and said that you had changed your mind and wanted a different truck instead. After everything I went through to make you happy and after you stressed over and over to me that you wanted this specific truck only, I am left wondering if you were ever really interested in buying this truck from us, or if you were just looking to tarnish our reputation?

Reply

Judy & John Parliman March 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Dreaded looking for a truck after horrible experiences locally. Joe and Gibson Truck royally blew our minds. One-price shopping, better-than-expected trade-in price, perfect truck at fair to tow our 5th wheel. It was a truly pleasurable experience. Joe showed us only trucks that that met our needs and stated if we didn’t find it today, he would come up with it. Amazing-no headache.

Will be back and are spreading the word throughout Citrus County. All dealerships should be so fantastic !!

Reply

Matt M June 10, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Im in the market for a used truck and i think i made my decision. i would never buy from GTW if you say your so much better than all the competition and you only sell good stuff how come there is so many people with problems. that throws up a red flag. well i thank you all for helping me make my decision

Reply

Yves B. President June 27, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Matt M. The reason there are different opinions online about Gibson is because we’ve sold over 32,000 trucks and counting since 1995. Our business was built on word of mouth and an unbelievable 60 percent of our sales result from repeat and referral customers. We wish you the best in your truck buying decision.

Reply

Carl M March 19, 2014 at 9:49 pm

We had a great experience when we purchased our truck from GTW.
Yves and his truck specialists as well as the shop manager were great. We drove from NC to get a beautiful F150, and we’re very happy and satisfied with our purchase.
Chad, Jacob, John and Yves, you guys are doing a wonderful job.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Car Dealer Reviews - View ratings and reviews from car buyers in your area, or write one of your own to have your voice heard.
GD Star Rating
a WordPress rating system

Write a Detailed Review Below:

Previous post:

Next post: